Most hazardous areas in Cebu identified - Cebu Circle | Cebu City, Philippines

Post Top Ad

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

Most hazardous areas in Cebu identified

06/02/2010 - CEBU CITY — With the completion of the rapid geo-hazard assessment for the province of Cebu, the Region 7 office of the Mines and Geo-sciences Bureau (MGB) 7 has identified six municipalities and three cities in the province that are highly hazardous in terms of geologic features.

MGB 7 Regional Director Loreto B. Alburo bared that areas considered to be most hazardous are the towns of Balamban, Pinamungahan, Dumanjog, Ronda, Asturias and Catmon and the cities of Toledo, Talisay and Cebu cities.

Loreto explained that geo-hazard mapping identifies various geologic features and hazards associated with geologic features. It also determines possible settlement sites, properties and infrastructure to be affected.

“The geo-hazard maps and reports which contain information on the vulnerability of certain areas to various types of geologic and natural hazards will be provided to all concerned local government units, as this shall serve as early warning for them” said Alburo.

Further, the MGB7 official disclosed that examples of geological phenomena that can produce geo-hazards are floods, flash floods and landslides which may be rain-induced and earthquake related.

He also cited that geo-hazard maps provide information on potential areas of landslides, liquefaction, subsidence and other ground instabilities in the country as they identify not only areas prone to floods, landslides and other natural calamities but also areas for relocation.

“The rapid field assessment will cover barangays, whether these are located near the shoreline, on foot slopes, mid slopes and/or mountain ridges,” said Alburo.

Meanwhile, the results of the MGB7 rapid field assessment with high landslide susceptibility pinpoint 19 barangays in this city. These barangays are Lusaran, Binaliw, Guba, Budlaan, Malubog, Buot-Taup, Busay, Sirao, Taptap, Tagbao, Tabunan, Pung-ol Sibugay, Sudlon II, Sudlon I, Sinsin, Buhisan, Pamutan, Sapangdaku, and Adlaon.

In the municipality of Balamban, 11 barangays were also identified with high landslide susceptibility. These are Hingatmonan, Lamesa, Luca, Ginatilan, Cabasiangan, Matun-og, Cansomoroy, Gaas, Magsaysay, Cabagdalan, and Duangan.
Moreover, MGB7 said likewise highly landslide-susceptible are five barangays in Toledo City, one in Talisay City, five in Asturias, 12 in Catmon, and one each in the towns of Pinamungajan, Ronda and Dumanjug (Manila Bulletin)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad