Feb. 22 and 24 declared holidays - Cebu Circle | Cebu City, Philippines

Post Top Ad

Saturday, February 20, 2010

Feb. 22 and 24 declared holidays

2/20/2010 - CEBU City students and employees working in the city will enjoy two holidays next week.
There will be no work and no classes in all public and private schools on Feb. 22, Monday, when the country commemorates the 24th anniversary of the Edsa People Power Revolution.
The event is supposed to be commemorated every Feb. 25 but President Macapagal-Arroyo with her “holiday economics” moved its observance to Feb. 22, the nearest Monday from the occasion.
This conforms with Republic Act 9492, which provides that all holidays, except those which are religious in nature, are moved to the nearest Monday unless otherwise modified by law, order or proclamation.
In July last year, President Arroyo signed Proclamation 1841 declaring the regular holidays, special (non-working) days, and special holidays (for all schools) for the year 2010.
The proclamation states that Feb. 22, or the Monday closest to Feb. 25, is a special holiday to serve as an “inspiration to all Filipinos everywhere as we continue to chart our collective course as a nation and as a people.”
On Wednesday, Feb. 24, Cebu City marks its 73rd Charter Day, which is a special non-working holiday.
Cebu City administrator Francisco “Bimbo” Fernandez said the Charter Day celebrations would start with a Mass, which would be followed by a flag-raising and floral offering ceremony.
There would then be the unveiling of the Vicente Rama statue.
Rama, who is considered as the “Father of Cebu City” authored Act No. 58, which created the Cebu City charter in 1937.
Every Charter Day, the city government recognizes individuals and institutions that brought honor and helped the city to continue its progress and development.
Cebu City Mayor Tomas Osmeña earlier announced that President Macapagal-Arroyo would be declared as “One of the Adopted Sons of Cebu City.”
Arroyo will be given the Order of Rajah Humabon by the mayor.
Other awardees include Philippe Lhuillier, Msgr. Rodolfo Villanueva and Francisco Benedicto, who will be recognized as city's outstanding individuals.
Lhuillier, which started the Cebuana Lhuillier jewelry pawnshop chain, is the Philippine ambassador to Italy. Villanueva is a renowned songwriter. Benedicto is the Philippine ambassador to India.
The Cebu Market Vendors Development Cooperative, Inc. will be recognized as the city's outstanding institutions. Cemvedco, which started in 2000, now has at least 1,800 members.
Fifteen individuals and establishments will also receive the Mayor's Special Award. These include the Alpha Kappa Rho (Akrho), the Bagong Alyansang Makabayan (BAYAN), 51st Marine Reserve Batallion, Miss Cebu 2009 Kris Tiffany Janson, Joel Mari Yu, barangay captain Nida Cabrera, Sen. Mar Roxas and Sen. Sergio Osmeña III (Cebu Daily News)

1 comment:

Post Top Ad