Castrol-sponsored Cebu Striders dominate first ever CNU Fun Run - Cebu Circle | Cebu City, Philippines

Post Top Ad

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Castrol-sponsored Cebu Striders dominate first ever CNU Fun Run

September 15, 2009 CEBU, Philippines - The newly-formed Cebu Striders sponsored by Castrol had an impressive debut in the local running circuit, coming up with two first place honors spiced up with several runner-up trophies in the first ever Cebu Normal University Run yesterday starting and ending CNU grounds along OsmeƱa Boulevard, this city.

Fernando Subayno, a first timer in Cebu footrace, Angelito Sibayan and Elmer Bartolo swept the top three spots in the men's open 10K division, while Mary Grace de los Santos reigned supreme in the disstaff side.

Subayno clocked in 33 minutes and 21 seconds in the event dubbed “Run a Normal Life.” Sibayan trailed Subayno by nine seconds, while Bartolo landed third in 34:06 to complete the Cebu Striders’ supremacy in the men’s open.

De los Santos, on the other hand, proved too much for her opponents after posting the time of 41 minutes and 27 seconds. Joeyry Lee wound up second in 44:57 followed by Rose Baylon in 49:29.

Charlie Berberio topped the executive class with the time of 37:70, while Ronnel Abayan (37:57) and Bon Brandon (42:50) placed second and third, respectively.

In the women's category, Tessie Escosinas came out the fastest in 57:50. Rosse Baldoleso finished second in 58:19 followed by Florence Mata in 58:31.

In the 5K action, the all-MEPZ women’s class saw former RP weightlifter Emily Rosas of Lexmark winning the top spot with the time of 21:27. Rosas edged out the most dominant runner from MEPZ before, Gladys Sumili, who wound up second in 22:46. Maria Lerio Omolon settled for third in 24:15.

In the men’s bracket, the top three finishers were Robert Daang (14:50), Nino Misa (15:09) and Jesus Baculi with 15:16.

In the 3K Kiddies Fun Run, Adella Camillo took the first place in the girls division with the time of 11:19 followed by Clarise and Crisel Dionson with an 11:22 and 11:24 clocking, respectively. In the boys class, Joey Lee Jr. claimed the top spot in 12:10 followed by Justin Chiongbian (12:22) and Mervin John Madrid (12:50). – Caecent No-ot Magsumbol (THE FREEMAN)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad